---
title: "Forward deployed engineer courses compared, against what the job asks for"
description: "FDE programmes from IIT Delhi, IIT Roorkee, Krish Naik, FDE Academy, Educative and Aced, compared on fee, hours and refunds against what FDE jobs ask."
canonical_url: "https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses"
md_url: "https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses.md"
last_updated: "2026-10-30"
access: "public"
---

# Forward deployed engineer courses compared, against what the job asks for

FDE programmes from IIT Delhi, IIT Roorkee, Krish Naik, FDE Academy, Educative and Aced, compared on fee, hours and refunds against what FDE jobs ask.

Checked October 30, 2026

A forward deployed engineer course is worth paying for if it teaches the two things FDE job posts ask for and most software courses skip: working with a customer to scope the problem, and shipping AI into that customer's systems.

If you want a university certificate and live weekend classes, look at IIT Delhi's programme, or IIT Roorkee's with Futurense at under a third of the fee. On a tight budget, Krish Naik's live bootcamp costs ₹10,000. To prepare for FDE interviews at a specific company, try Aced or Educative. To study on your own, the last section shows which parts Fanout's courses cover and which they don't.

> **Disclosure.** Fanout publishes this page. Fanout does not sell an FDE course; some of its courses cover parts of the role, and the last section says which. No provider paid to be listed. Programmes are in alphabetical order, not ranked. We read every fee, date and refund term on the provider's own page on the date above. Batches fill and fees change, so confirm before you apply.

## What the job asks for

We read 20 FDE job posts from nine companies on October 24, 2026: OpenAI, Anthropic, Databricks, Palantir, Cohere, Mistral, Scale AI, Ramp and ElevenLabs.

- Every one asked for customer-facing work: discovery, embedding with the customer's team, managing stakeholders.
- Most asked the engineer to own architecture or system design, and most named Python.
- Most wanted production LLM work. Half asked for agents or tool use, nearly half for evaluations, and fewer for RAG by name.
- A few, mainly infrastructure roles, asked for model serving, GPUs or on-premises deployment.
- Most stated travel, from 20% to 50% of the time.

So a good FDE course teaches customer discovery and scoping, system design, building and evaluating LLM applications, and deployment. Serving models on GPUs matters for some roles, not most.

## The programmes at a glance

| Programme | Length | Fee | Refunds |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Aced (formerly Exponent)](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#aced-forward-deployed) | Not stated | Not shown on its course page | Not stated on its course page |
| [Educative](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#educative-fde) | 32 lessons in 11 modules, about 2 hours by Educative's estimate | Educative subscription | Refunds are discretionary under [Educative’s terms](https://www.educative.io/terms); no guaranteed refund |
| [FDE Academy](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#fde-academy) | 32 weeks | Not published on its page | Not published on its page |
| [IIT Delhi CEP](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#iit-delhi-cep) | 24 weeks, 145 hours (76 live) | ₹1,65,000 + 18% GST, plus a ₹1,000 + GST application fee | 80% of programme fees received if you withdraw within 15 days of the start; GST and the application fee are excluded; none after |
| [IIT Roorkee (CEC) with Futurense](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#iit-roorkee-futurense) | 3 months, about 85 hours | ₹49,999 + 18% GST in its fee table (its FAQ still says ₹45,000); the ₹5,000 registration fee counts toward it | Fee refunded if you withdraw before the start, minus the registration fee, GST and any subvention charges; none after |
| [Krish Naik](https://fanout.sh/forward-deployed-engineer/courses#krish-naik-fde-bootcamp) | 5 months, from October 4, 2026 | ₹10,000 including GST | None: all purchases on krishnaik.in are non-refundable |

## The programmes

### Aced (formerly Exponent): Forward Deployed (Beta)

- **Format:** Not stated on its public course page, which marks it Beta
- **Length:** Not stated
- **Fee:** Not shown on its course page
- **Refunds:** Not stated on its course page
- **What you get:** Preparation for FDE interview loops at Anthropic, OpenAI, Palantir and other companies.
- **Best for:** You have an FDE interview booked and want company-specific preparation.
- **Trade-off:** Marked Beta, and it prepares you for the interview, not the job.

[aced.io](https://www.aced.io/courses/forward-deployed-engineering)

### Educative: Forward Deployed Engineer for AI Systems

- **Format:** Self-paced course with quizzes, 2 projects and a cloud lab; certificate of completion
- **Length:** 32 lessons in 11 modules, about 2 hours by Educative's estimate
- **Fee:** Educative subscription
- **Refunds:** Refunds are discretionary under [Educative’s terms](https://www.educative.io/terms); no guaranteed refund
- **What you get:** One FDE engagement end to end: customer discovery, scope documents, proof-of-concept delivery and production handoff, alongside RAG pipelines, agent and multi-agent architectures, framework selection and production evaluation, taught through case studies. Includes company-specific interview preparation.
- **Best for:** A self-paced pass over the whole role, with interview preparation.
- **Trade-off:** Subscription only. Refunds are discretionary under [Educative’s terms](https://www.educative.io/terms); no guaranteed refund.

[educative.io](https://www.educative.io/courses/forward-deployed-engineer)

### FDE Academy: Forward deployed engineering programme

- **Format:** Cohort capped at 80 seats, with a technical track and a consulting track; optional IIT certification add-on
- **Length:** 32 weeks
- **Fee:** Not published on its page
- **Refunds:** Not published on its page
- **What you get:** Four phases built around the FDE work cycle, from understanding the business and defining the problem to deploying and owning outcomes: RAG and context engineering, evaluation and monitoring, requirement discovery, PRDs and stakeholder alignment, ending in a capstone. Admission runs through screening, an online proficiency test and a technical-plus-consulting interview. It asks for a four-year degree with maths, cloud exposure and two years of technical experience, or an exceptional fresher profile. FDE Academy is run by Futurense, which also offers the IIT Roorkee programme below, with CEC, IIT Roorkee.
- **Best for:** A long, selective programme with a cohort.
- **Trade-off:** The fee is not on the page; you learn it after applying.

[fde.academy](https://fde.academy/)

### IIT Delhi CEP: Advanced Certificate in AI Forward Deployed Engineering

- **Format:** Live online weekend classes plus self-paced work; e-certificate from CEP, IIT Delhi. The page names InterviewBit Software Services (Varsity) as the service provider
- **Length:** 24 weeks, 145 hours (76 live)
- **Fee:** ₹1,65,000 + 18% GST, plus a ₹1,000 + GST application fee
- **Refunds:** 80% of programme fees received if you withdraw within 15 days of the start; GST and the application fee are excluded; none after
- **Next batch:** October 17, 2026 to April 10, 2027; registration closed
- **What you get:** A "70/30 build-to-deliver split". The build modules cover production Python, RAG, agents with MCP and LangGraph, LLM evaluation and observability, fine-tuning, deployment on AWS, Azure and GCP with serving frameworks, cost and latency, and security for regulated industries. The deliver modules cover discovery and problem framing, PRDs and solution design, and explaining trade-offs to non-technical stakeholders. Four mini-capstones and a final capstone defended live to a panel; an optional two-day campus immersion.
- **Best for:** Working engineers who want an IIT certificate and the full build-and-deliver syllabus.
- **Trade-off:** The highest fee here, and the current batch has closed registration.

[cepqip.iitd.ac.in](https://cepqip.iitd.ac.in/post/program/advanced-certificate-in-ai-forward-deployed-engineering)

### IIT Roorkee (CEC) with Futurense: PG Certificate in Forward Deployed AI Engineering

- **Format:** Weekend live online sessions of 2 to 3 hours; Post Graduate Certificate from CEC, IIT Roorkee
- **Length:** 3 months, about 85 hours
- **Fee:** ₹49,999 + 18% GST in its fee table (its FAQ still says ₹45,000); the ₹5,000 registration fee counts toward it
- **Refunds:** Fee refunded if you withdraw before the start, minus the registration fee, GST and any subvention charges; none after
- **Next batch:** November 28, 2026 (tentative)
- **What you get:** Four phases: enterprise AI foundations, GenAI and RAG, AI limitations and agentic AI, and applied AI strategy with case labs. Two tracks run together, AI engineering and client consulting, moving from no-code to low-code to full code. A bridge course before the start brings every learner to the same level, and the capstone ends in a deployed system.
- **Best for:** Early-career engineers who want an IIT certificate at a lower fee.
- **Trade-off:** Shorter than IIT Delhi's programme, and no refund once it starts.

[futurense.com](https://futurense.com/iit-roorkee/pg-certificate-in-forward-deployed-ai-engineering)

### Krish Naik: AI Forward Deployed Engineer Bootcamp

- **Format:** Live classes on Saturday and Sunday, 8 to 11 am; three free demo class recordings
- **Length:** 5 months, from October 4, 2026
- **Fee:** ₹10,000 including GST
- **Refunds:** None: all purchases on krishnaik.in are non-refundable
- **What you get:** Production Python and FastAPI, AWS deployment with Docker and CI/CD, advanced RAG, knowledge graphs, LangGraph multi-agent systems with MCP, enterprise integrations, security and guardrails, evaluation and observability, and an AI consulting and delivery module on technical discovery, solution architecture and statements of work. Two enterprise capstones.
- **Best for:** The most syllabus per rupee, if you can learn at a live class's pace.
- **Trade-off:** A live class at a fixed pace, and no university certificate.

[krishnaik.in](https://www.krishnaik.in/liveclass2/Forward_Deployed_Engineer?id=14)

## What each programme covers, against the job

A tick means the programme's own page names the topic. A dash means the page does not mention it, not that the course lacks it. Aced's course page shows only its title, so its row is empty.

| Programme | Customer discovery and scoping | System design or architecture | RAG and agents | Evaluation | Deployment to production | Model serving on GPUs |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Aced | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Educative | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | — |
| FDE Academy | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | — |
| IIT Delhi CEP | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | Serving frameworks named |
| IIT Roorkee with Futurense | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | — |
| Krish Naik | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | — |

## Studying on your own: what Fanout covers

Fanout does not sell an FDE course. If you would rather study the technical half yourself, this is what its courses cover against the list above, and what they don't.

| What FDE posts ask for | In Fanout | Where |
| --- | --- | --- |
| System design and architecture | Yes: 200 video lessons (about 29.5 hours), among them 30 design walkthroughs and 5 company case studies | [System Design In Depth](https://fanout.sh/system/overview) |
| Production LLM work: retrieval, agents, MCP | Yes: 43 lessons from vector search to the agent loop and MCP | [AI Engineering](https://fanout.sh/ai-engineering/overview) |
| Model serving, GPUs, capacity | Yes, for the roles that ask: 226 lessons from your first model to distributed serving | [Inference Engineering](https://fanout.sh/inference-eng) |
| Evaluation | Not as a course module | — |
| Customer discovery, scoping, stakeholder work | No | — |
| Python | No; the courses assume it | — |

All three courses are on one plan: $227 a year in the US, ₹7,200 a year in India. Fanout purchases are final, so start with the free lessons in each course. To compare courses in one area, see [the best AI engineering courses](https://fanout.sh/ai-engineering/courses) and [the best LLM inference courses](https://fanout.sh/inference-eng/courses).

## Questions

### Can a fresher become an FDE?

Most of the posts we read that state a number ask for four or more years of experience, but there are entry points: Palantir has a new-grad FDE post and Databricks an associate one. Of the programmes above, FDE Academy accepts an "exceptional fresher", and IIT Roorkee's programme is open to strong fresh graduates while preferring one to two years of experience.

### Do I need an FDE certificate to get hired?

None of the 20 job posts we read asked for a course certificate. Three Databricks posts list Databricks' own product certification, as a plus or a requirement. What the posts did ask for is customer-facing delivery, system design, Python and production LLM work.

### What is the cheapest FDE course in India?

On October 30, 2026: Krish Naik's bootcamp at ₹10,000 including GST, then IIT Roorkee with Futurense at ₹49,999 + GST, then IIT Delhi CEP at ₹1,65,000 + GST. FDE Academy and Aced show no fee on their pages, and Educative sells a subscription.

## Start the technical half free

Each Fanout course has free lessons: [System Design](https://fanout.sh/system/overview), [AI Engineering](https://fanout.sh/ai-engineering/overview) and [Inference Engineering](https://fanout.sh/inference-eng).

- [Start with AI Engineering](https://fanout.sh/ai-engineering/overview)

---
This representation contains public Fanout content only. Protected Pro lessons, account data, billing, checkout, and pricing are not included.

Browse the public content map: https://fanout.sh/sitemap.md
